Skip to main content Center for Global Partnership, the Japan Foundation, is a grant-making organization founded in 1991 to promote mutual understanding between the United States and Japan on contemporary social issues.
The Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership
CGP NY | Japan Foundation | Japanese | Site Map
About Us
Institutional Grants
Fellowships & Volunteers
People's Exchange
US-Japan Young Political Leaders Program
Japanese American Leadership Delegation Program
Joint program with the Maureen and Mike Mansfield Foundation
U.S.-Japan Public Intellectuals Network Program
Other Exchange Programs
Questions & Comments
Update History
CGP's Grant Program
People's Exchange

US-Japan Young Political Leaders Exchange Program

"US-Japan Young Political Leaders Exchange Program・ co-organized by Center for Global Partnership, the Japan Center for International Exchange (JCIE) and the American Council of Young Political Leaders (ACYPL), enhances understanding of US-Japan relations through bilateral exchanges of young leaders of each country to the politics and policy-making process of the other country.

Delegations from each country consist of local officials, assistants to Diet members, and policy staff from the governing and opposition parties. And they visit each other and have two-week study programs involving exchanges of opinions with young leaders in political, business and NGO communities.


Japanese Delegation
.Shusaku Inoue
 City Councilor, Kita-Kyushu City, Fukuoka Prefecture, Liberal Democratic Party (LDP)
.Ichiro Kato
 Professional Staff Member, Party Organization Bureau (LDP)
.Taizoh Matsubara
 Assistant to the Honorable Takashi Kosugi, former Member of the House of Representatives (LDP)
.Motoshi Morii
 Assembly Member, Aichi Prefecture, Democratic Party of Japan (DPJ)
.Muneaki Murai
 Professional Staff Member, Youth Division, Party Organization Committee (DPJ)
.Masaki Takano
 Assistant to the Honorable Shingo Nishimura, Member of the House of Representatives, Liberal Party
.Hisayuki Takeda
 Reporter, Political News Division, Komei Shimbun, New Komeito Party
.Miki Wajima
 Assembly Member, Yamagata Prefecture (DPJ)

US Delegations
.Claudia Alvarez
 Councilwoman, City of Santa Ana (Democrat)
.Merika Coleman
 Representative, State of Alabama (Democrat)
.Ferdinand "Trey" Frank Fischer
 Representative, State of Texas (Democrat)
.Stephanie Olsen
 Representative, State of Minnesota (Republican)
.Dan Schooff
 Representative, State of Wisconsin (Democrat)
.Geoffrey Smith
 Representative, State of Ohio (Republican)
.Peter Su
 Congressional Liaison, International Affairs, US Department of Treasury (Republican)
.Doug Turner
 President, DW Turner Public Relations (Republican)


Japanese Delegation
.Masaki Ito
  Member, Katsushika Ward Assembly, Democratic Party of Japan (DPJ)
.Naoki Kazama
 Legislative Assistant to Akihisa Nagashima, Member of the House of Representatives, DPJ
.Rina Ohishi
 Vice Representative, Federation of Gifu Prefecture, DPJ
.Masayoshi Taniguchi
 Deputy Manager, Party Policy Research Council, New Komeito Party
.Yuka Uchida
 Deputy Manager, Policy Research Committee, DPJ
.Hiroyuki Yamamoto
 Professional Staff Member, Party Organization Bureau, Liberal Democratic Party (LDP)
.Mariko Yamamoto
 Member, Okayama Prefectural Assembly, LDP




Japanese Delegation
.Akiko Enomoto
 Staff Researcher, Policy Research Committee (DPJ)
.Tatsuo Igarashi
 Member, Tsukuba City Assembly (DPJ)
.Chikako Ikeda
 Staff, Election Bureau, LDP Headquarters
.Mitsuyoshi Mizoguchi
 Acting Assistant Chief, Integrated Center Secretariat, New Komeito Headquarters
.Hideaki Ochiai
 Acting Assistant Chief, Shikoku Branch Office, The Komei Shimbun (Party organ paper)
.Takaaki Wani
 Staff, Diet Affairs Committee, LDP Headquarters


US Delegations
.The Hon. Joseph Bartlett
 Member, Maryland House of Delegates (Republican)
.Mr. Josh Brown
 Senior Director, Business Development, Corrections Corporation of America, TN (Republican)
.Mr. Justin Rhee
 Special Assistant to the Director, Office of Adjudication and Compliance, USDA, Washington, DC (Republican)
.The Hon. David A. Adams
 Treasurer, County of Richland, South Carolina (Democrat)
.Ms. Jennifer Alvarez
 Director of Legislative & Political Affairs, National Association of Letter Carriers, Washington, DC (Democrat)
.The Hon. Jennifer M. Seelig
 Member, Utah House of Representatives (Democrat)
.The Hon. Melinda Katz (ESCORT)
 Member, New York City Council (Democrat)

Japanese Delegation
·Yamato Aoyama
 Member, Ibaraki Prefectural Assembly (DPJ)
·Hiroki Iwamatsu
 Staff, Party Organization Headquarters (LDP)
·Rika Kitagawa
 Leader, Correspondent of Komei Press (New Komeito’s party organ paper)
·Junko Kiyono
 Manager, Policy Research Committee, DPJ Headquarters
·Masayoshi Kuboya
 Assistant to Tsurunen Marutei, Member of the House of Councillors (DPJ)
·Yasuhiro Masujima
 Leader, Information System Bureau, Information System Department, New Komeito
·Shingo Miyabara
 Assistant to Kenji Kosaka, Member of the House of Representatives (LDP)
·Keiko Ogawa
 Member, Nerima City Assembly (LDP)

The Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership
4-16-3 Yotsuya, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo 160-0004
Tel +81-(0)3-5369-6072 Fax +81-(0)3-5369-6042
The Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership, N.Y.
1700 Broadway, 15F, New York, NY 10019, U.S.A
Tel +1-212-489-1255 Fax +1-212-489-1344