## **Committees**

## ■ The Advisory Committee for Evaluation of the Japan Foundation

This Committee evaluates the Japan Foundation programs and related operations in response to requests by the President of the Foundation, and advises on the improvement of operations and other necessary measures. Its members include experts and academics with in-depth knowledge of international exchange and Japan Foundation activities.

Members (in alphabetical order) (as of April 1, 2007)

Asami Tamotsu Director, Chief Executive of the Hokkaido Mikuriya Takasi Professor, Research Center for Advanced Branch Office of The Yomiuri Shimbun Science and Technology, at the University of Hanawa Shoji Adviser to Tokyo Electric Power Co. (until September 30, 2006) Sakuma Katsuhiko Professor at the University of the Sacred Heart,

Iwao Sumiko Professor Emeritus of Keio University

Tokyo Katayama Masao Managing Director of The Saison Foundation Sota Shuji Professor at Atomi University Takashina Shuji Director, Ohara Museum of Art

## **■** The American Advisory Committee for Japanese Studies

Members (in alphabetical order) (as of March 31, 2008)		Wesley Jacobsen	Professor at Harvard University
Mary Elizabeth Berry Professor at the University of California,		William W. Kelly	Professor at Yale University
	Berkeley	Leonard Lynn	Professor at Case Western Reserve University
Kent Calder	Professor and Director of Edwin O. Reischauer	Susan Napier	Professor at the University of Texas, Austin
	Center for East Asian Studies at Johns Hopkins	Laurel R. Rodd	Professor at the University of Colorado, Boulder
	University	Leonard Schoppa	Associate Professor at the University of Virginia
James C. Dobbins	Professor at Oberlin University	Veronica Taylor	Professor and Director of the Asia Law Center
Wayne Farris	Professor at the University of Hawaii, Manoa		at the University of Washington
Sabine Fruhstuck	Associate Professor at the University of	Kristina K. Troost	Chief of International and Regional Studies,
	California, Santa Barbara		Perkins Library, Duke University
Laura Hein	Associate Professor at Northwestern University	Kikuko Yamashita	Associate Professor at Brown University

## Advisory Committee of the Maison de la culture du Japon à Paris (The Japan Cultural Institute in Paris)

This Committee serves as an advisory body to the President of the Maison de la culture, and oversees its management.

Members (in alphabetical order) (as of March 31, 2008) From Japan From France Fukuhara Yoshiharu Honorary Chairman of Shiseido Co., Ltd. Paul Andreu Architect Haga Toru Director of Okazaki Mindscape Museum, Alain Chevalier Former Chairman of LMVH Honorary President of Kyoto University of André Larquié President, Palais Omnisport de Paris-Bercy Art and Design, and Professor Emeritus at the Jean Maheu Advisor to the French Audit Commission University of Tokyo Jacques Rigaud Former President, L'Association pour le Higuchi Yoichi President of the Maison Franco-Japonaise, Développement du Mécénat Industriel et Member of the Japan Academy, and Professor Commercial Emeritus at the University of Tokyo André Ross Former French Ambassador to Japan Ito Junji Art Critic and Professor at the Faculty of Art Christian Sautter Deputy Mayor of Paris in Charge of Economic and Design, University of Toyama Development, Finance, and Employment Nishigaki Toru Professor, Graduate School of Interdisciplinary Chairman of Renault, President of the High Louis Schweitzer Information Studies, at the University of Tokyo Authority to Fight Discrimination and Promote Ogino Anna Equality, and Chairman of the Board of Le Author and Professor at the Faculty of Letters, Keio University Monde Sado Yutaka Conductor Pierre Soulages Artist and painter Sakai Tadayasu Director, Setagaya Art Museum Valérie Terranova Secretary-General of the Jacques Chirac Foundation