Skip to main content


Committees(Fiscal 2013)

Committee members are in alphabetical order.

Advisory Committee for The Japan Foundation

Makoto Iokibe (Chairperson)
Board of Trustees Chairman, Prefectural University of Kumamoto; President,
Hyogo Earthquake Memorial 21st Century Research Institute

Keiko Chino
Visiting editor, Sankei Shimbun

Yuichi Hosoya
Professor, Keio University Faculty of Law

Satoshi Ikeuchi
Associate Professor, Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, the University of Tokyo

Shin Kawashima
Associate Professor, the University of Tokyo Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Fumiaki Kubo
Professor, the University of Tokyo Graduate School of Law and Politics

Amon Miyamoto
Stage director

Tsutomu Mizusawa
Director, the Museum of Modern Art, Kamakura & Hayama

Taeko Nagai
Director, Setagaya Arts Foundation; Chairman, International Theatre Institute

Kumiko Sakoda
Director, Center for Research Resources, National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics

Yasushi Watanabe
Professor, Keio University Faculty of Environment and Information Studies

American Advisory Committee for Japanese Studies

Research Fellowship
Screening Subcommittee

Keller Kimbrough
University of Colorado (Literature)

Susan Long
John Carroll University (Anthropology)

Anne Walthall
University of California, Irvine (History)

Gennifer Weisenfeld
Duke University (Art history)

Kikuko Yamashita
Brown University (Japanese/Linguistics)

Doctoral Fellowship
Screening Subcommittee

E.Taylor Atkins
Northern Illinois University (History)

William Bodiford
University of California, Los Angeles
(Religious studies)

Rebecca Copeland
Washington University in St. Louis (Literature)

Sabine Frühstück
University of California at Santa Barbara
(Cultural studies)

Michael Smitka
Washington and Lee University (Economics)

Institutional Project Support
Screening Subcommittee

Daniel Botsman
Yale University (History)

David Leheny
Princeton University (Political science)

Jennifer Robertson
University of Michigan (Anthropology)

Richard Samuels
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
(Political science)

Ann Sherif
Oberlin College (Literature)

Advisory Committee of the Maison de la culture du Japon à Paris

From France

Louis Schweitzer
Special Representative of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the French Republic for France-Japan Partnership; Honorary Chairman, Renault

Paul Andreu

Jean-Louis Beffa
Chairman, Saint-Gobain

Augustin Berque
Geographer, former French Director of the Maison Franco-Japonaise

Philippe Faure
Former French Ambassador to Japan

André Larquié
President, Palais Omnisport de Paris-Bercy

Jean Maheu
Advisor to the French Audit Commission

Jean-Robert Pitte
Former President, Paris-Sorbonne University

Christian Sautter
Deputy Mayor of Paris in Charge of Economics Development, Finance, and Employment; former Minister of Economy, Finance and Industry

Valérie Terranova
Secretary-General, the Jacques Chirac Foundation

From Japan

Koichiro Matsuura
President of the Maison Franco-Japonaise; former Director-General of UNESCO

Toru Haga
Professor Emeritus, the University of Tokyo

Reiko Hayama

Atsushi Horiba
Chairman and President, Horiba, Ltd.

Junji Ito
Art Critic; Professor, Faculty of Art and Design, the University of Toyama

Yasuo Kashiwakura
Professor Emeritus, the Open University of Japan

Toru Nishigaki
Professor, Graduate School of Interdisciplinary Information Studies, the University of Tokyo

Anna Ogino
Author; Professor, Faculty of Letters, Keio University

Tadayasu Sakai
Director, the Setagaya Art Museum

Hajime Sasaki
Special Advisor to NEC Corporation