# Committees (Fiscal 2014)

Committee members' affiliations are current as of fiscal 2014.

#### Advisory Committee for The Japan Foundation (Alphabetical order)

Keiko Chino Editorial writer, The Sankei Shimbun

Yuichi Hosoya Professor, Faculty of Law, Keio University

Satoshi Ikeuchi Associate Professor, Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, The University of Tokyo

Makoto lokibe (Chairperson) Chancellor, Prefectural University of Kumamoto; President, Hyogo Earthquake Memorial 21st Century Research Institute Shin Kawashima Associate Professor, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, The University of Tokyo

Fumiaki Kubo Professor, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics, The University of Tokyo

Amon Miyamoto Stage director

Tsutomu Mizusawa Director, The Museum of Modern Art, Kamakura & Hayama Japanese Centre of International Theatre Institute
Kumiko Sakoda

Director, Center for JSL Research and Information, National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics

Director, Setagaya Arts Foundation; President,

Yasushi Watanabe Professor, Faculty of Environment and Information Studies, Keio University

## American Advisory Committee for Japanese Studies (Alphabetical order)

From Japan

UNESCO

Architect

Junji Ito

Center

of Japan

University

Koichiro Matsuura

**Reiko Hayama** 

Atsushi Horiba

Yasuo Kashiwakura

Takashi Kawamura

Advisor, Hitachi, Ltd.

Toru Nishigaki

Tadayasu Sakai

Hajime Sasaki

Noboru Tsujihara

of Modern Literature

President of the Maison Franco-

Japonaise; Former Director-General of

Chairman and President, Horiba, Ltd.

Art Critic; Administrative Professor, Tokyo

University of the Arts Public Collaboration

Professor Emeritus, The Open University

Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo; Professor, Tokyo Keizai University

Anna Ogino Author; Professor, Faculty of Letters, Keio

Director, The Setagaya Art Museum

Honorary Advisor to NEC Corporation

Novelist: Director of Kanagawa Museum

Research Fellowship Screening Subcommittee

Keller Kimbrough University of Colorado (Literature)

Susan Long John Carroll University (Anthropology)

Mari Noda Ohio State University (Japanese and Linguistics)

Anne Walthall University of California, Irvine (History)

Gennifer Weisenfeld Duke University (Art History)

Advisory Committee of the Maison de la culture du Japon à Paris

#### From France

Louis Schweitzer Special Representative of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the French Republic for France-Japan Partnership; Honorary Chairman, Renault

Paul Andreu Architect

Jean-Louis Beffa Chairman, Saint-Gobain

Augustin Berque Geographer; Former French Director of the Maison Franco-Japonaise

Philippe Faure Former French Ambassador to Japan

André Larquié President, Palais Omnisport de Paris-Bercy

Jean Maheu Advisor to the French Audit Commission

Jean-Robert Pitte Former President, Paris-Sorbonne University

Christian Sautter Deputy Mayor of Paris in Charge of Economics Development, Finance, and Employment; Former Minister of Economy, Finance and Industry

Valérie Terranova Secretary-General, The Jacques Chirac Foundation Screening Subcommittee
E.Taylor Atkins

Northern Illinois University (History)

Doctoral Fellowship

William Bodiford University of California, Los Angeles (Religious Studies)

Rebecca Copeland Washington University in St. Louis (Literature)

Michael Smitka Washington and Lee University (Economics)

Christine Yano University of Hawaii at Manoa (Anthropology) Institutional Project Support Screening Subcommittee

Taeko Nagai

Daniel Botsman Yale University (History)

David Leheny Princeton University (Political Science)

Jennifer Robertson University of Michigan (Anthropology)

Richard Samuels Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Political Science)

Ann Sherif Oberlin College (Literature)

## Advisory Committee for The Japan Foundation Asia Center

From Japan (Alphabetical order)

Kurara Chibana Model; Ambassador of Japan, WFP (World Food Program)

Michiko Hasegawa Professor Emeritus, Saitama University

Toshiyuki Inoko CEO, teamLab Inc.

Hiroshi Inoue Chairman, The Japan Commercial Broadcasters Association (JBA)

Takeshi Kitano Film Director; Actor; Artist

**Junko Koshino** Designer

**Masaaki Miyasako** Professor, Tokyo University of the Arts; Japanese Painter

Kensaku Morita Governor of Chiba-Prefecture; Actor

Jay Sakomoto President, Shochiku Co., Ltd.

Shingo Torii Vice Chairman of the Board, Suntory Holdings Ltd.

Masayuki Yamauchi (Chairman) Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo From ASEAN (Alphabetical order according to country)

Dato Paduka Hamdillah H A Wahab (Brunei) Advisor, Brunei-Japan Friendship Association

Pou Sothirak (Cambodia) Executive Director, The Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace: Government Advisor

Riri Riza (Muhammad Rivai Riza) (Indonesia) Film Director

Thavixay Saythilath (Laos) Singer; General Manager, Meexay Entertainment Sole Co., LTD.

Datuk Lat (Mohd Nor Bin Khalid) (Malaysia) Cartoonist

Lahpai Seng Raw (Myanmar) Founder and Former Director, Metta Development Foundation

Ambeth R. Ocampo (Philippines) Associate Professor, Department of History, Ateneo De Manila University

Goh Ching Lee (Singapore) Founder, Executive and Artistic Director, CultureLink Singapore

Kitti Prasirtsuk (Thailand) Director, Institute of East Asian Studies, Thammasat University

Nguyen Van Chinh (Vietnam) Associate Professor, Center for Asian-Pacific and International Studies, Vietnam National University