Committees

The Advisory Committee for Evaluation of the Japan Foundation This Committee evaluates Japan Foundation programs and related operations in response to requests by the President of the Japan Foundation, and provides advice on the improvement of operations and other necessary measures. Its members include experts and academics who have in-depth knowledge of international exchange and Japan Foundation activities.

Members (in alphabetical order)

Assistant Managing Editor of the
Yomiuri Shimbun
Adviser to Tokyo Electric Power Co.
Professor at Musashi Institute of
Technology
Managing Director of Saison
Foundation
Professor at Research Center for
Advanced Science and
Technology, University of Tokyo
Professor at University of the
Sacred Heart, Tokyo
Professor at Atomi University
Director of Ohara Museum of
Art, Chairman of the Committee

The American Advisory Committee for Japanese Studies

This committee has been established in order for the Japan Foundation to obtain opinions and advice about its programs to support Japanese studies in the United States. This is in view of the fact that the cultural exchanges between the two countries represent a major part of the Foundation's activities. The committee consists of 15 noted scholars of the Japanese studies. The committee screens the applications for fellowship programs and institutional assistance programs for the United States and makes recommendations.

►	Members (in alphabetical order)				
	Mary Elizabeth Berry	Professor at University of			
		California, Berkeley			
	Kent Calder	Professor at Johns Hopkins			
		University			
	James C. Dobbins	Professor at Oberlin University			
	Wayne Farris	Professor at University of Hawaii,			
		Manoa			
	Laura Hein	Associate Professor at			
		Northwestern University			

William W. Kelly	Professor at Yale University
Ellis S. Krauss	Professor at University of
	California, San Diego
Leonard Lynn	Professor at Case Western
	Reserve University
Susan J. Napier	Professor at University of Texas,
	Austin
Laurel R. Rodd	Professor at University of
	Colorado, Boulder
Yoshiko Yokochi Samuel	Professor at Wesleyan University
Leonard Schoppa	Associate Professor at University
	of Virginia
Veronica Taylor	Professor at University of Washington
Kristina K. Troost	Chief of International and
	Regional Studies, Perkins Library,
	Duke University

The Advisory Committee for the Center for Global Partnership This Advisory Committee consists of intellectuals from the United States and Japan. Such topics as basic policies, top priority areas, and relative priority areas are discussed at the semiannual meetings of this council (until July, 2005).

	10		
Members	(in	alphabetica	l order)

Fiembers (in alphabetical order)					
Chino Keiko	Editorial Page Editor, the Sankei				
	Shimbun				
Thomas S. Foley	Former U.S. Ambassador to Japan				
William E. Franklin	President of Franklin International				
Barry D. Gaberma	n Senior Vice President of the Ford				
	Foundation				
Ruby P. Hearn	Senior Vice President Emeritus of the				
	Robert Wood Johnson Foundation				
lokibe Makoto	Professor at Kobe University				
Martin Meyerson	President Emeritus at University				
	of Pennsylvania				
Mike M. Mochizuk	i Director of the Sigur Center for Asian				
	Studies, George Washington University				
Ogasawara Toshia	ki Chairman and Publisher, The				
	Japan Times				
Ogata Shijuro	Former Deputy Governor of the				
	Bank of Japan				
Ohara Kenichiro	President of Ohara Museum of				
	Fine Arts				
Shiina Takeo	Senior Adviser to IBM Japan				
Tanaka Akihiko	Professor at University of Tokyo				