Committees

■ The Advisory Committee for Evaluation of the Japan Foundation

This Committee evaluates the Japan Foundation programs and related operations in response to requests by the President of the Foundation, and advises on the improvement of operations and other necessary measures. Its members include experts and academics with in-depth knowledge of international exchange and Japan Foundation activities.

Members (in alphabetical order) (as of March 31, 2007)

Asami Tamotsu Director, Chief Executive of the Hokkaido Mikuriya Takasi Professor, Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, at the University of Tokyo Branch Office of The Yomiuri Shimbun

Sakuma Katsuhiko Professor at the University of the Sacred Heart, Hanawa Shoji Adviser to Tokyo Electric Power Co. (until

September 30, 2006)

Iwao Sumiko Professor Emeritus of Keio University Sota Shuji Professor at Atomi University Takashina Shuji Director, Ohara Museum of Art Katayama Masao Managing Director of Saison Foundation

Committee for Management Reform (from October 2005 to January 2007)

This Committee was established to act as an advisory body to the President of the Foundation. It was tasked with identifying challenges and issues concerning the Foundation's management, particularly with regard to financial structure, and to provide recommendations to improve management quality and efficiency.

Members (in alphabetical order) (as of January 18, 2007)

Japan Representative and Vice Chairman, UBS Iriyama Akira Professor, Graduate School of Social Design Ezawa Yuichi Studies at Rikkyo University AG Group

Furukawa Teijiro Chairman of Imperial Gift Foundation Boshi-Kage Yuji Managing Director, Pension Fund Association Aiiku-Kai (JCFRI) and former Deputy Cabinet Mizuno Seiichi President, Institute of Marketing Architecture, Co. Ltd.

> Nakamoto Fuminori CPA, Auditor of Kanazawa University Secretary

Hashimoto Shozo Senior Advisor to Nomura Research Institute.Ltd. Shinagawa Masaji Chairperson, International Development Center of Japan Ikeda Morio Senior Advisor to Shiseido Co., Ltd.

■ The American Advisory Committee for Japanese Studies

Members (in alphabetical order) (as of March 31, 2007)

Mary Elizabeth Berry Professor at the University of California, Berkeley William W. Kelly Professor at Yale University Kent Calder Professor and Director of Edwin O.Reischauer Leonard Lynn Professor at Case Western Reserve University

Center for East Asian Studies at Johns Hopkins Susan Napier Professor at the University of Texas, Austin University. Laurel R. Rodd Professor at the University of Colorado, Boulder James C. Dobbins Professor at Oberlin University Leonard Schoppa Associate Professor at the University of Virginia

> Professor at the University of Hawaii, Manoa Veronica Taylor Professor and Director of the Asia Law Center

Sabine Fruhstuck Associate Professor at the University of at the University of Washington

California, Santa Barbara Kristina K. Troost Chief of International and Regional Studies, Laura Hein

Associate Professor at Northwestern University Perkins Library, Duke University Wesley Jacobsen Professor at Harvard University Kikuko Yamashita Associate Professor at Brown University

Advisory Committee of the Maison de la culture du Japon à Paris

Director, Setagaya Art Museum

This Committee serves as an advisory body to the President of the Maison de la culture, and oversees its management.

Members (in alphabetical order) (as of March 31, 2007)

Wayne Farris

Sado Yutaka

Sakai Tadayasu

From Japan From France Chairman of AJINOMOTO Co., Inc. Egashira Kunio Paul ANDREU Architect Fukuhara Yoshiharu Honorary Chairman of Shiseido Co., Ltd. Alain CHEVALIER Former Chairman of LVMH

Haga Toru President, Kyoto University of Art and Design André LARQUIE Former Special Inspector General to the Minister

Higuchi Yoichi Member of The Japan Academy, and Professor of Culture and Communications, President of the Emeritus at the University of Tokyo

National Centre for Choreography, Advisor to the Ito Junji Director, Nagasaki Prefectural Art Museum Ministry of Culture and Communications

Motono Moriyuki Former Japanese Ambassador to France, Jean MAHEU Former Director of the Pompidou Center, President President of Maison France-Japonaise of the Theatre de la Ville, and advisor to the French

Audit Commission Nishigaki Toru Professor, Graduate School of Interdisciplinary

Information Studies, at the University of Tokyo Jacques RIGAUD Chairman of ADMICAL, former President and Ogino Anna Author and Professor. Faculty of Letters, at Keio Director-General of RTL

> University André ROSS Former French Ambassador to Japan

Christian SAUTTER Former Minister of Economy, Finance and Industry, Conductor

Deputy Mayor of Paris in Charge of Economic

Development, Economist

Louis SCHWEITZER Chairman of Renault Pierre SOULAGES Artist and painter

Valérie TERRANOVA Special Advisor to the President of France